Read in full from arXiv v3 (26 Mar 2025, the ICLR 2025 version), appendices A–K included. v1 (12 Aug 2024) was read in full to compare where versions differ. v2 was not available, so “added in v3” below means “absent from v1, present in v3”. The figures were not viewed, because this environment cannot render PDF pages, and their values are not in the extracted text. Where a result lives only in a plot, this note gives its direction and says so.

Contribution

A text-to-video diffusion transformer, released at 2B and 5B with weights, VAE and captioner. It has four parts. The first is a causal 3D VAE at 8×8×4 compression with 16 latent channels. The second is a single sequence of T5 text tokens and video patches with modality-specific adaLN (“expert adaLN”). The third is full attention over that sequence. The fourth is a data pipeline: six Video-LLaMA negative-label filters and a dense recaptioning pipeline. Training uses v-prediction with zero terminal SNR, mixed-duration packing, progressive resolution and a per-rank timestep-stratification trick.

Key insight

The attention argument is a picture, and the evidence is a curve. The case for full 3D attention is Figure 5. Under factorized attention a moving head in frame i+1 “cannot directly attend to the head in frame i”, so the information has to pass “implicitly … through other background patches”. The ablation that backs it (Figs. 8b, 10b) is described in two sentences and has no setup. The cost side, by contrast, is a table (Table 8). Of the two halves of SOTA-390, the paper measures the cost more carefully than the benefit.

Assumptions

  • A compressed latent: the ablation’s VAE and patch size are not stated. Variant B (8×8×4, 16 channels) is “used for pretraining” (Table 1).
  • A T5 text encoder, text length 226 (App. Table of hyperparameters).
  • Diffusion with v-prediction and zero SNR on the LDM schedule (§3), with uniform timesteps made explicit per rank (§3.3).
  • FlashAttention makes full attention affordable: “the increase in sequence length does not make the inference time unacceptable” (Table 8 caption).

Key results

The full-attention ablation, as the text states it (§4.1). “In Figure 8b and Figure 10b, when we replace 3D full attention with 2D + 1D attention, the FVD will become much higher than 3D attention in early steps. We also observe that 2D+1D is unstable and prone to collapse. We suppose that as the model size increases, such as 5B, training becomes more prone to instability.” The setup the text gives: FVD on “WebVid test dataset with 500 videos” (Fig. 8 caption), and a training-loss curve (Fig. 10b). The text does not give model size, training steps, resolution, frame count, patch size, parameter matching between the two variants, or any FVD value. It does not say the gap persists past “early steps”. It says nothing about Fig. 10b’s loss curve beyond citing it. The 5B sentence is a supposition, and it leaves unclear whether the ablated model was 5B.

The cost (App. Table 8). One DiT forward step, bf16, H800. Model size not stated.

input2D+1D3D fullratio
256×384×6s0.38s0.41s1.08×
480×720×6s1.26s2.11s1.67×
768×1360×5s4.17s9.60s2.30×

VAE (Table 1). Flicker is the L1 difference between adjacent frames.

variantcompressionchannelsflicker ↓PSNR ↑
SDXL 2D8×8×1493.228.4
A8×8×4887.627.2
B (used)8×8×41686.328.7
C8×8×43287.730.5
D8×8×83287.829.0
E16×16×812887.327.9

At 16×16×8 “the convergence of the model also becomes extremely difficult”, with no numbers. Against other open 3D VAEs at 256², 17 frames: flicker 85.5 and PSNR 29.1, against Open-Sora 92.4 / 28.5 and Open-Sora-Plan 90.2 / 27.6 (Table 2). The paper does not explain why its own row differs from variant B.

Expert adaLN (Figs. 8a, 8d, 10c). Compared against no expert adaLN, against MMDiT at equal parameters (“MMDiT1”) and against MMDiT at equal depth with twice the parameters (“MMDiT2”). It “significantly outperforms” the first two on FVD, CLIP4Clip and loss. No values are given. Cross-attention DiT was not run: “shown to be inferior to MMDiT in (Esser et al., 2024), so we don’t repeat.”

Explicit uniform sampling (Table 9, validation loss at 40k steps): 0.222/0.130/0.119/0.133/0.161 without it and 0.216/0.126/0.116/0.129/0.157 with it, at t = 100/300/500/700/900.

RoPE against sinusoidal (Fig. 10a): RoPE’s loss “converges significantly faster”. The released 2B model uses sinusoidal encoding and the 5B RoPE (appendix hyperparameter table).

System evaluation. CogVideoX-5B is best on 5 of 7 selected VBench and dynamics metrics (Table 3). On a 100-prompt human rating it outscores Kling: total 2.74 against 2.17 (Table 4). The rater count is not given, and scores are absolute 0/0.5/1 ratings, not pairwise preferences (App. J).

Data. About 35M single-shot clips averaging 6s, plus 2B aesthetics- filtered images from LAION-5B and COYO-700M (§3.4). The filter classifiers reach 0.89–0.99 test accuracy (Table 14).

What changed between v1 and v3

  • The attention and adaLN-vs-MMDiT ablations are absent from v1. v1’s ablations were four loss curves: RoPE vs sinusoidal, RoPE vs RoPE plus learnable absolute, expert adaLN vs expert adaLN plus expert MLP, and uniform sampling. v3 drops two of them.
  • Captions. v1 states that “the pipeline above”, Panda-70M short video captions plus per-frame CogVLM image captions summarized by GPT-4 and then a fine-tuned Llama 2, “generates the caption data that is used to train the CogVideoX model introduced in this report”. v1 also says data from the video-input CogVLM2-Caption “is used to train the next generation”. v3 deletes both sentences and says only that the pipeline recaptions “all video training data”.
  • Resolution. v1’s introduction says the open-sourced model generates 720×480, 6s, 8 fps. v3’s abstract says 768×1360, 10s, 16 fps.
  • Table 3 (v1 Table 1). The CogVideoX-2B row changed (e.g. Human Action 88.0 → 96.6, Scene 39.94 → 55.35). The 5B row and the Kling table (Table 4 / v1 Table 2) are identical.
  • Other. v1 did not patchify in time. v3 allows a temporal patch q, with the value not stated. v1’s VAE loss is L2 + LPIPS + GAN; v3’s is L1 + LPIPS
    • KL, with GAN added later. The image corpus appears only in v3.

Claims

idclaimstrengthsupport
C1Full 3D attention reaches lower FVD than 2D+1D early in trainingweakFig. 8b, no values; setup unstated
C22D+1D training is unstable and prone to collapseweakobservation, no runs or rates shown
C3Full attention costs 1.08× to 2.30× the forward time, growing with sequence lengthstrongTable 8, a direct measurement; model size unstated
C4A causal 3D VAE flickers less than a frame-wise 2D VAEmoderateTable 1; one metric the authors define
C516×16×8 compression makes the generator hard to trainweakasserted
C6Expert adaLN beats MMDiT at equal parametersweakFigs. 8a/8d/10c, no values; model size unstated
C7Explicit uniform sampling lowers loss at every timestepmoderateTable 9; one run, gaps 0.003–0.006
C8Dense recaptioning “significantly improves” generationweakasserted in abstract and §1; no ablation in either version
C9CogVideoX-5B beats Kling on human evaluationweakTable 4; one system comparison, rater count unstated
C10Top-20% quality fine-tuning removes watermarks and subtitles at a slight semantic costweakApp. A, no numbers
C11Fixed-frame joint image-video training splits into two generative modesweakobservation (§3.1)

Concepts

  • Expert adaLN — one transformer stack over the concatenated sequence, with separate timestep-conditioned adaLN parameters for text and vision tokens.
  • 3D full attention — attention over all text and video tokens at once, against 2D spatial attention plus 1D temporal attention.
  • Explicit uniform sampling — split [1, T] into one interval per data-parallel rank so each batch covers the timesteps evenly.
  • Multi-resolution frame pack — pack clips of different duration and resolution into one batch, with RoPE extrapolated rather than interpolated.

Connections

Takes its VAE from MAGVIT’s causal convolution, its single-sequence design from DiT and SD3’s MMDiT (LIT-449), and its I2V conditioning from SVD (LIT-625). Successors kept the full attention and the VAE ratio and dropped the expert adaLN, per LIT-622.

Recommendations

  • R1 — Budget full spatio-temporal attention as a cost that grows with token count: 1.08× at 256×384 and 2.30× at 768×1360 for one forward pass. Topic: attention-techniques. Status: standard. Strength: strong. Conditions: H800, FlashAttention, one unstated model size.
  • R2 — Prefer full attention to factorized attention in a video DiT. Topic: attention-techniques. Status: experimental. Strength: weak. Conditions: one comparison, early training, setup unstated.
  • R3 — Stratify diffusion timesteps across data-parallel ranks. Topic: training-optimization. Status: experimental. Strength: moderate. Conditions: small loss gains, one run, no sample-quality measure.

Bearing on the record

  • SOTA-390: direction confirmed, and the body overstates the source. The text supports “lower FVD early, and the factorized model is unstable”. Four statements in the practice are not in the text. First, “with everything else fixed (Fig. 8)”: nothing is said to be fixed. Second, “wins on … training loss”: Fig. 10b is cited without comment. Third, “made at 8×8×4 compression with 2×2 patches”: no patch size appears in v3. Fourth, “appears only in the paper’s third arXiv version”: it is absent from v1, and v2 was not read. It should also say that 2.3× is inference time at one resolution, 1.67× at 480×720, and that the instability means a later-step FVD comparison may be comparing against a collapsed run. promote_when stands.
  • SOTA-389: the consensus note mislabels CogVideoX. v1 says the reported model trained on captions built by summarizing per-frame image captions, with a short Panda-70M video caption as one input. That is closer to the frame-caption arm Movie Gen tested against than to a video-native captioner. CogVLM2-Caption, which does watch the video, was trained on those summaries and used for “the next generation”.
  • SOTA-386: CogVideoX trains on 2B images alongside 35M clips, untested. That is adoption. §3.1 notes that fixed-length joint training “diverge[s] into two generative modes”, and uses that to motivate frame packing. That is an unmeasured caveat on the “alongside” clause.
  • SOTA-187: Table 1 is video evidence for the practice’s condition that compression is a trade. Channels raise PSNR at fixed ratio, and the most aggressive ratio is reported as hard to train.
  • SOTA-195, SOTA-266: v-prediction with zero SNR and uniform timesteps. That is adoption; no test.
  • SOTA-333: no bearing.
  • Should produce: nothing new at Active. R3 is too thin, and R1 belongs in SOTA-390’s cost paragraph.

Limitations

  • No architecture ablation states its model size, steps or resolution. The appendix stage table lists 400k + 220k + 120k + 10k = 750k steps for the released models, with batch falling from 2000 to 100.
  • Every ablation value is in a plot.
  • Evaluation mixes a selected subset of VBench with a human rating against one closed system.
  • The captioning claim, the most repeated one, has no ablation.

Open questions

  • Does the full-attention FVD gap persist once the factorized model is stabilized? The text leaves open whether it is a quality gap or a stability gap.
  • Which captions trained the v3 checkpoints, given v1’s statement and v3’s silence?
  • What produced the changed 2B VBench row?

Corrections to the LIT note

  • “Full 3D attention … wins on FVD and loss (Fig. 8).” The text says factorized FVD is “much higher than 3D attention in early steps”, and that 2D+1D is “unstable and prone to collapse”. The loss curve is Fig. 10b and the text makes no claim about it. Fix: “It has lower FVD early in training (Fig. 8b), and the factorized variant is reported unstable. No values are given.”
  • Summary: “Full 3D attention beats factorized attention at 2.3× the forward cost.” 2.3× is the inference forward-step time at 768×1360×5s. It is 1.67× at 480×720×6s and 1.08× at 256×384×6s (Table 8). Fix: “at 1.1× to 2.3× the forward time, rising with resolution.”
  • “Version 1 claims 720×480, 6s at 8 fps.” v1’s abstract states no resolution. The figure is in v1’s introduction and describes the open-sourced model. Fix: “Version 1’s introduction gives the open model as 720×480, 6s at 8 fps.”
  • “The architecture ablations (Figs. 8 and 10) appear in version 3.” Absent from v1, present in v3; v2 was not checked. v1 did have ablations, as loss curves, two of which v3 dropped. Fix accordingly.
  • Missing, and worth adding under hedges: v1 says the reported model’s captions came from the frame-caption summarization pipeline. v3 removed the sentence. The 2B VBench row also changed between versions while the 5B row and the Kling table did not.